About the Historic Preservation Commission

The Gunnison County Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) was formed in 1993 by the Gunnison County Commissioners. The volunteer board is charged with the identification and nomination of historic landmarks to be placed on Gunnison County’s Register of Historic Landmarks.

The mission of the Historic Preservation Commission is to provide historical, cultural and architectural landmark identification and nomination services to Gunnison County Board of County Commissioners so it can evaluate landmarks for inclusion on the Gunnison County Register of Historic Landmarks.

Click Here for additional resources and information about the history of Gunnison County.

Gunnison County Agricultural Heritage Honors 2021

The Gunnison County Historical Preservation Commission is kicking off a new and exciting honors program to highlight our County's amazing heritage in the agricultural industry. We are seeking nominations for our first honoree and would like to request the attached announcement be forwarded along to your members. We would like to have nominations in during the month of April so we may recognize them during May's Colorado Archaeology and Historic Preservation Month. Click here to view/download the press release.


  • Elinda Card
    First appointed: January 1998
    Term expires: February 2025
  • Shelley Popke
    First appointed: February 2021
    Term expires: February 2024
  • Kathleen Curry
    First appointed: August 2020
    Term expires: August 2023
  • Heather Thiessen-Reily
    First appointed: February 2021
    First appointed: February 2024
  • LeeAnn Mick
    First appointed: February 2007
    Term expires: February 2024
  • David Russell
    First appointed: February 2021
    Term expires: February 2024
  • Jody Reeser
    First appointed: February 2010
    Term expires: February 2025