A manufactured home is considered to be any wheeled pre-constructed building equipped with living quarters and not licensed. Must show length and width.
Effective July 1, 2008, due to the passage of HB08-1260, documents required on manufactured home transactions will be recorded with the Clerk & Recorder office and will become public record. Additional forms and fees will be applicable.
To Buy or Sell a Manufactured Home
Ownershall apply for a Manufactured Home title in the county where the manufactured home is located (CRS 38-29-108) at the County Clerk & Recorder's office within 45 days of purchase.
- Ownership document - MSO or title
- Proof that no property taxes for previous years are due on such manufactured home. Such proof shall be a certificate of Taxes Due issued by Gunnison County Treasurer, or an Authentication of Paid Ad
Voloremtaxes issued by the Gunnison County Assessor (if home is moved), in the county where the home is located or a copy certified by the County Clerk's office to be a true and exact copy of the original showing current year taxes paid. (CRS 38-29-107) feeof $10.00.
- Purchase price of the manufactured home.
- Sales Tax when applicable.
- Security Agreement on financed homes (must show maturity date). Fees for filing are $5.00 per printed side up to legal
size,and $10.00 per printed side for over legal sized documents.
- Notify County Assessor within 20 days (in the county where the manufactured home is located).
2. The County Clerk shall forward information to the County Assessor and the Colorado Department of Revenue Title
Department. (CRS 38-29-108)
To Move Your Manufactured Home
- Notify the Assessor and Treasurer in the county where the manufactured home is located.
- If the manufactured home is permanently affixed, a Certificate of Removal (PDF) will be required and a new title will be required. (CRS 38-29-203)
- County Treasurer/Assessor will issue an authentication form and a transportable manufactured home permit. The permit is an orange placard that must be prominently displayed on the rear of the manufactured home during transit. If the move is along state highways, you must also get a moving permit from the Colorado Department of Transportation.
- If a person has titled a manufactured home properly in the county where it is
located,and then moves the manufactured home to another location or county, there is no need for a title change as long as the owner remains the same. Nothing is required by the Clerk & Recorders office.
- The owner shall file a notice of any change of location within the county with the County Assessor and the County Treasurer or change of location from one county to another county within 20 days after such change of location occurs. If such notice is NOT filed, a penalty of fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be assessed an collected at the time of appropriate county treasurer's discovery of the change of location. (CRS 38-29-143)
Real Property (Permanent Dwelling) - Not Titled
- The Certificate of Permanent Location (PDF) - $13.00
- Photo-copy of the ownership document - $5.00 per page
- Bill of Sale (If new home) - $5.00 per page
The County Clerk shall forward information to the County Assessor (CRS 38-29-207) If the home was considered affixed and taxed as real property through the Assessor's office prior to July 1, 2008, an Affidavit of Real Property (PDF) may be used to identify the correct status of the home for further financing or property transfers. The Affidavit of Real Property (PDF) is not required to be recorded by statute unless the home is removed by the property.
Destruction of a Manufactured Home
- Certificate of Destruction (PDF) is required. (CRS 38-29-204)
- Notify the Motor Vehicle office of the destruction. Verification of titled owner or previous purge ad valorem will be completed.
- Receive consent and lien release from
or secured party if applicable on Certificate of Destruction. (PDF) lienholder
- Notify Assessor and Treasurer in the county where the manufactured home is located.
- County Assessor/Treasurer will issue an authentication form and a transportable manufactured home permit (If applicable). The Permit is an orange placard that must be prominently displayed on the rear of the manufactured home during transit. If the move is along state highways, you must also get a moving permit from the Colorado Department of Transportation.
- Receive verification signatures from the authorized agent verifying
destructionof the manufactured home.
- Submit the Certificate of Destruction (PDF) and Certificate of Removal (PDF) (If previously affixed) to the Motor Vehicle office. Recording fees will be collected at that time.
- The County Clerk shall forward information to the County Assessor and the Colorado Department of Revenue Title Department. (CRS 38-29-207)