Motor Vehicle Office

REMINDER: Our office has no affiliation with Driver's License. DRIVER'S LICENSE OFFICE: Located at 302 N Main St. in Gunnison. 303-205-5600 for General Information. 303-205-5613 for Detailed Information. 720-295-2965 for Appointments. Please call these numbers for hours of operation. 

The purpose of the Motor Vehicle Activity is to provide title, registration and license plate services to vehicle owners in Gunnison County so they can timely and accurately satisfy their requirements for licensing their vehicle(s).

Registration Requirements

All motor vehicles and trailers owned and operated by a Colorado resident must be registered. A named owner's secure and verifiable identification information is required to be presented for all new registration transactions.

Colorado residency is established when one of the following criteria is met:

  • Obtain employment in Colorado
  • Own or operate a business in Colorado
  • Reside in Colorado continuously for 90 days

Registering your vehicle in Gunnison County? View your quick checklist of items required (PDF).

Additional Requirements

  • A Colorado based business, with branch offices in other states, may NOT title and register the business vehicle in Colorado unless the vehicles are physically located in this state.
  • A Letter of Authorization or a Corporate Resolution to Borrow / Grant Collateral Letter granting permission for the agent to act on behalf of the company is required to complete a new registration transaction.
  • Motor vehicle registration must be completed within 90 days after becoming a resident of Colorado.
  • Motor vehicle registrations must be completed within 60 days after purchase of the vehicle to avoid late fees of $25 / month.
  • Vehicle must be physically located in Colorado to register vehicle. A Colorado address is mandatory as the legal address. A Post Office box is not acceptable as a legal address, but may be used for the mailing address.

Application Requirements

All applications for vehicle registrations must be made in the County Motor Vehicle Office in the county of residence. Criteria used to establish residency in the county is:

  • Business address, used when registering a business vehicle that is in the business name and where the vehicle is primarily operated and maintained
  • Primary place of residence, used when registering a personal vehicle, utilizes the same laws and regulations that apply to voter registration
  • Proof of Insurance
  • When the place of residence or business address does not apply, the address where the vehicle is primarily domiciled and maintained may be used

Vehicle Already Registered?